Blu-ray and Libraries

I’m probably behind the times on this, but I just saw an ad for a Blu-ray/DVD movie and wondered how many libraries have started buying these combination discs.   I couldn’t find any at my library and from discussions on various listservs I know that many libraries aren’t buying Blu-rays because while Blu-ray players are backwards compatible and can play DVDs, standard DVD players can’t play Blu-rays. 

That means that we aren’t giving some of our patrons their preferred format.  You might assume that people with Blu-ray players are wealthier and will just buy their own Blu-ray movies.  But that creates more manufactured products which is never environmentally sound.  Shouldn’t we strive to let all our patrons be as green as possible?  If we buy the combos, everyone gets their preferred format, and oddly, these combo movies are sometimes even cheaper than the standard DVD version – as these two versions of Up at Amazon are.

Do you already carry Blu-rays at your library?  Or are you buying the Blu-ray/DVD combinations?  Are there any pitfalls I’m overlooking?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blu-ray and Libraries

  1. Krista says:

    We do not… yet. I don’t think we have had any requests yet either.
    I’m going to share this combo format with our Selectors this week. I look forward to seeing any other responses.

  2. wendy hicks says:

    I’m with my colleague, Krista. I’d love to hear if anyone has any experience with the \combos\. I also will bounce it off my local art/alt DVD rental place — the have the best geeks working there. They might have some insight. If so, I’ll share.

  3. Nathan R. E. Clark says:

    My library has been buying the combo Blu-Ray/DVD editions as we come across them, but I think we are dealing with a fairly limited subset there. Here is hoping we see more of it.

  4. DN says:

    We looked into it – a patron requested it. Many of the sites I checked were of the opinion that Blu-Ray isn’t really going anywhere and that it will be a small niche before DVDs are gone altogether and replaced by downloads. Market share is growing, but is still small. The consensus seemed to be that the quality, while better, didn’t really justify the larger price – no one but a hardcore videophile would get much out of it.

    This was a year and a bit ago and nothing has really come along since to change our minds. I’m always up for other opinions though.

Leave a Reply

