Dear Abby for Public Librarians?

Hi, I’m Justine Shaffner, BCR’s public library market coordinator.  My job is to be aware of all the concerns and issues public libraries are facing today and to figure out how BCR can help you turn these challenges into success stories.  We’re all so busy these days that it’s hard to keep up with what’s going on outside of our own communities.  Tighter budgets mean less staff are able to get away for conferences and training, so I’d like to be your eyes and ears.  I’m attending conferences, talking to librarians, reading library literature, blogs… and in general hearing a lot about what librarians all over the country are thinking and doing.  There are many inexpensive (and often free), ingenious and collaborative solutions out there that might be really helpful to your own situations, so if I have tips or ideas that could be useful to you, I’ll tell you about them. 

 

Of course, I have my own ideas about what the most pressing issues are, but this is a blog for you.  If there’s something you want to know more about, post a comment.  If you’d rather do it anonymously, send an email to jshaffner@bcr.org  – I’ll let you know what I’ve found that might be helpful to you, and I’m hoping that other librarians who’ve dealt with the same issues will post comments with their tips and advice too.  Kind of like Dear Abby for public librarians.

 

Next week I’ll be at ALA Midwinter and I’ll spend some time visiting the exhibits.  So let me know if there are any products or services that you’ve been looking for and wondering about and I’ll see what I come up with while wandering the aisles.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Abby for Public Librarians?

  1. Hi Justine, what a fantastic idea for a blog! I’ve subscribed, and am looking forward to hearing what you discover. Thanks, Susie

Leave a Reply

